State tax rates and rules for income, sales, gas, property, cigarette, and other taxes that impact middle-class families. Go to the Kiplinger Tax Map Maryland Add to State Compare List | View List View State Compare List (0) selected | Compare up to 5 The Bottom Line Least Tax-Friendly Middle-class families in the Old Line State get killed when it comes to state and local income taxes. (Baltimore City and every county in Maryland impose a local income tax.) The news is better when it comes to property taxes, with the average property tax rate right around the national average. The Maryland tax system is actually quite friendly to shoppers, though. There's a 6% state sales tax, but that's it – there are no additional local sales taxes to pay. Income Tax Range Low: 2% (on less than $1,000 of taxable income)High: 5.75% (on more than $250,000 of taxable income for single filers; more than $300,000 for joint filers)Maryland counties and Baltimore City levy additional income taxes. Sales Tax 6% state levy. No local taxes.Groceries: ExemptClothing: TaxableMotor Vehicles: Exempt from ordinary sales tax, but taxable under special 6% excise taxPrescription Drugs: Exempt Real Property Taxes In Maryland, the median property tax rate is $1,057 per $100,000 of assessed home value. Motor Fuel Taxes Gasoline: 36.3¢ per gallon. Diesel: 37.05¢ per gallon. Sin Taxes Cigarettes: $2 per packPremium cigars: 70% of the wholesale priceNon-premium cigars: 15% of the wholesale priceOther tobacco products: 30% of the wholesale priceVapor products: No statewide tax, but Montgomery County taxes 30% of wholesale priceBeer: $0.09 per gallonWine: $0.40 per gallonLiquor: $1.50 per gallonA 9% sales tax is also levied. Annual Car Taxes and Fees No annual vehicle tax or fee is imposed. Estate and Inheritance Taxes Maryland's estate tax exemption is $5 million, plus any predeceased spouse's unused exclusion amount. Rates range from 0.8% to 16%.While Maryland also has an inheritance tax (with a flat 10% rate), the list of heirs exempt from paying it includes the decedent's spouse, parents, grandparents, children, grandchildren, siblings, son-in-law, daughter-in-law and surviving spouse of a deceased child. In addition, property not exceeding $1,000 passing to any one person is not subject to the tax.