Wyoming State Tax Guide

Wyoming state tax rates and rules for income, sales, property, fuel, cigarette, and other taxes that impact residents.

Wyoming flag blowing the wind during sunrise for a Wyoming state tax article
(Image credit: Getty Images)

Wyoming state tax: Overview

Wyoming is one of nine states that doesn't have a state income tax

According to the Tax Foundation, Wyoming's average combined state and local sales tax rate is fairly low. The statewide median property tax rate is fairly low when compared to other states.

[Data for this state tax guide was gathered from a number of sources including the Census Bureau, the state’s government website, the Sales Tax Handbook, and the Tax Foundation. Property taxes are cited as a rate percentage rather than the assessed value.] 

Subscribe to Kiplinger’s Personal Finance

Be a smarter, better informed investor.

Save up to 74%
https://cdn.mos.cms.futurecdn.net/flexiimages/xrd7fjmf8g1657008683.png

Sign up for Kiplinger’s Free E-Newsletters

Profit and prosper with the best of expert advice on investing, taxes, retirement, personal finance and more - straight to your e-mail.

Profit and prosper with the best of expert advice - straight to your e-mail.

Sign up

Wyoming Income Taxes

Picture of downtown Cheyenne Wyoming

(Image credit: Getty Images)

Wyoming has no state income tax.


Wyoming sales tax

Wyoming's state sales tax is 4.0%. The average local sales tax is 1.36%. So, that is a combined rate of 5.36%, according to the Tax Foundation.

  • Groceries: Exempt
  • Clothing: Taxable
  • Motor Vehicles: Taxable
  • Prescription Drugs: Exempt

How much is property tax in Wyoming?

little model house on a table

(Image credit: Getty Images)

In Wyoming, the median property tax rate is 0.56% of assessed home value, according to the Tax Foundation.

Wyoming Property Tax Breaks for Retirees

Wyoming's property tax deferral program allows for the delayed payment of up to 50% of property taxes owed on a principal residence on a parcel of less than 40 acres of land. 

To be eligible, the homeowner must have limited income, be over 62 years old (or disabled), and have purchased the property at least 10 years before applying for the tax deferral. The program is administered at the county level.


Wyoming gas tax (motor fuel)

Swipe to scroll horizontally
ProductTax
Gasoline$0.24 per gallon
Diesel$0.24 per gallon

Source: Sales Tax Handbook

Wyoming taxes on tobacco and alcohol

Swipe to scroll horizontally
ProductTax
Cigarettes$0.60 per pack
Snuff$0.60 per pack
Other Tobacco Products20% of the wholesale price
Vapor Products20% of the wholesale price

Source: Sales Tax Handbook

Swipe to scroll horizontally
ProductTax
Beer$0.02 per gallon
Wine$0.00 per gallon
Liquorstate-controlled

Source: Sales Tax Handbook

Wyoming estate and inheritance taxes

Wyoming has no estate or inheritance tax.

Rocky Mengle

Rocky Mengle was a Senior Tax Editor for Kiplinger from October 2018 to January 2023 with more than 20 years of experience covering federal and state tax developments. Before coming to Kiplinger, Rocky worked for Wolters Kluwer Tax & Accounting, and Kleinrock Publishing, where he provided breaking news and guidance for CPAs, tax attorneys, and other tax professionals. He has also been quoted as an expert by USA Today, Forbes, U.S. News & World Report, Reuters, Accounting Today, and other media outlets. Rocky holds a law degree from the University of Connecticut and a B.A. in History from Salisbury University.

With contributions from