taxes

When Are State Tax Returns Due in Virginia?

Virginia is one of several states in which your state income tax return can be filed after April 15.

You probably already know that most Americans have to file their 2018 federal tax return by April 15, 2019 (as we told you earlier). For most states with an income tax (there are nine states with no income tax), the state return is also due on April 15 this year. However, some states give you more time to file — such as Virginia.

States With Tax Deadlines After April 15 in 2019

StateDue Date
DelawareApril 30
HawaiiApril 22
IowaApril 30
LouisianaMay 15
MaineApril 17
MassachusettsApril 17
New MexicoApril 30 (if e-filed)
OklahomaApril 22 (if e-filed)
VirginiaMay 1

Virginia is one of only two states that push the deadline for state income tax returns into May. (Louisiana is the other.) Residents of the Old Dominion have until May 1, 2019, to file their 2018 Form 706.

The Commonwealth allows an automatic six-month filing extension for taxpayers who miss the deadline. No application for the extension is required. However, you must pay at least 90% of your Virginia tax by the May 1 due date to avoid a penalty.

We recommend filing both federal and state returns at the same time if possible. State returns typically "piggyback" off the federal return, so it's usually easier to do them at the same time. There's also a better chance of avoiding discrepancies if you do them together. However, if that's not possible, having some extra time to file your Virginia return can help. It gives you more time to focus on getting your federal return off before the April 15 deadline and then to get your state return just right.

For information about other states with delayed tax filing deadlines, see 9 States Where You Can File Your State Tax Return After April 15.

Most Popular

Thinking of Buying an RV or Motor Home? Think Again!
personal finance

Thinking of Buying an RV or Motor Home? Think Again!

A Lemon Law attorney has some insights on the downsides of RV ownership you should think about before putting your money down and hitting the road.
May 16, 2021
Child Tax Credit 2021: Who Gets $3,600? Will I Get Monthly Payments? And Other FAQs
Coronavirus and Your Money

Child Tax Credit 2021: Who Gets $3,600? Will I Get Monthly Payments? And Other FAQs

People have lots of questions about the new $3,000 or $3,600 child tax credit and the advance payments that the IRS will send to most families in 2021…
May 17, 2021
Refunds for $10,200 Unemployment Tax Break to Begin This Week
Coronavirus and Your Money

Refunds for $10,200 Unemployment Tax Break to Begin This Week

The IRS will start issuing automatic refunds in mid-May to people eligible for the unemployment benefit tax exemption.
May 14, 2021

Recommended

How Long Should You Keep Tax Records?
taxes

How Long Should You Keep Tax Records?

Keep your tax documents at least until the time limit for an audit runs out—and even longer for some records.
May 18, 2021
What Happens if You Missed the Tax Deadline?
tax deadline

What Happens if You Missed the Tax Deadline?

If you owe Uncle Sam money, filing your tax return late (or forgetting altogether) can cost you dearly.
May 18, 2021
10 States with the Highest Gas Taxes
taxes

10 States with the Highest Gas Taxes

COVID-19 has made us appreciate driving our cars more, but filling up the tank will cost you more in these states.
May 17, 2021
2021 Child Tax Credit Calculator
Tax Breaks

2021 Child Tax Credit Calculator

See how much money you'll get in advance under the new child tax credit rules for 2021. Payments will start July 15.
May 17, 2021