Best States for Trusts: How to Choose One That’s ‘Trust-Worthy’

To minimize taxes, protect assets and give you and your beneficiaries greater control, 7 states stand above the rest when it comes to trust laws.

An older couple looks at a laptop together, appearing a bit concerned.
(Image credit: Getty Images)

If you’re thinking about starting a trust to help remove assets from your estate, avoid probate, minimize estate taxes, protect your assets from creditors and provide income to your heirs and favorite causes, there are a number of important considerations you may not be aware of, including in which state you choose to establish the trust.

Subscribe to Kiplinger’s Personal Finance

Be a smarter, better informed investor.

Save up to 74%

Sign up for Kiplinger’s Free E-Newsletters

Profit and prosper with the best of expert advice on investing, taxes, retirement, personal finance and more - straight to your e-mail.

Profit and prosper with the best of expert advice - straight to your e-mail.

Sign up

This article was written by and presents the views of our contributing adviser, not the Kiplinger editorial staff. You can check adviser records with the SEC or with FINRA.

To continue reading this article
please register for free

This is different from signing in to your print subscription

Why am I seeing this? Find out more here

Dan Flanagan, CPA/PFS, CFP®, AEP®
Financial Adviser, Partner, Canby Financial Advisors, LLC

Dan Flanagan brings more than 25 years of financial planning, wealth management and accounting experience to his role as partner and financial adviser at Canby Financial Advisors. His investment, financial planning and tax experience has great appeal among the entrepreneurs and executives who are his typical clients.

Securities and advisory services offered through Commonwealth Financial Network®, Member FINRA/SIPC, a Registered Investment Adviser.